Yeah, it’s another post about me. Sorry.

So I went to this match over the weekend. Given that I’m neither English nor Pakistani, that T20s are my least favourite format of the game by some distance, and that this was one of only two matches in a largely meaningless series, it should not have been a particularly huge deal. Thing is, I don’t get to watch cricket in the flesh, in actual stadia. Like, ever. Doesn’t happen. Hasn’t happened, as a matter of fact, since I was about 9 years old, and I’m in my early twenties now. So even given all those dampening factors, I had been nevertheless bouncing around like an overcaffeinated Red Setter for about a week beforehand.

I went, I watched and I wrote. Specifically, I wrote a Fan Following report for Cricinfo’s Page 2, which you can read here.

I also took approximately 580 photos, a few of which you can see here. I picked the best ones, honest.

You thought I was kidding, didn't you?

Enjoy!

, ,

  1. #1 by Viraj on 22/02/2010 - 9:23 pm

    Appreciate the light and irreverent touch of this blog. Not something you typically associate with Asian bloggers. Though the Cricinfo piece seems to be a bit more serious than the rest.

    • #2 by reina on 22/02/2010 - 11:15 pm

      Thanks, glad you like it! I guess it’s irreverent because as much as I love cricket – and I love it A LOT – it’s…a game. Too much seriousness saps the joy out of it, for me.

      The Cricinfo piece was written to their brief, maybe that’s why? The blog stuff is just whatever I feel like writing about and however I feel like writing it.

  2. #3 by Aneesh Surender on 23/02/2010 - 9:29 pm

    I just chanced upon the Page 2 report while browsing through the Fan Following section and loved the dry humour.

    I tried picturing the Fancy dresses (Cricinfo’s got to allow fan photos to be published)and yeah, what were they thinking? 🙂

    Cheers.

    (Even though I read the comment above later and realised the stories out here are a little more fun)

    P.S. Did you take the photo that’s part of the header?

    The guy in the blue shirt looks like he is in an awfully optimistic sixth slip!

    • #4 by reina on 23/02/2010 - 9:50 pm

      Added a pic to support the observations in the report!

      I did take the header pic. The story behind that is on my photo blog, here:

      http://excamera.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/taking-guard/

      As a rule, if a post has the ‘photos’ tag it includes photos I’ve taken personally, like all the Afghanistan-related ones.

Leave a Reply

