The Ongoing Adventures of Guppy Two-Toes

Some time ago on my old blog (and I believe also somewhere in the comments on Iain O’Brien’s blog) I came up with the hypothetical alternate-universe Kiwi superhero pairing of SuperDan and Guppy Two-Toes. SuperDan’s alter ego should be obvious; I figured he needed a sidekick, and who better than a man who somehow not only manages to remain upright but also plays cricket (rather well, I might add) with only seven toes in total? At the time Martin Guptill wasn’t in the best of form, so I reluctantly shelved the idea. Today, however, I am resurrecting it, in light of Guppy Two Toes’ fine maiden test century, which at the time of this writing, he has extended to 130 and is still going strong.

Brendon McCullum has, I should point out, also just scored a century – in less time and with arguably greater flair as well, having brought it up with a very pretty top-edged six – and is also still batting away, but his name isn’t nearly as catchy and he hasn’t overcome a bizarre deforming injury, so he misses out in the totally imaginary superhero stakes. I apologize, Brendon, truly. It was nothing personal.

So here’s to the Ongoing Adventures of SuperDan and Guppy Two-Toes. Long may they continue, and let us all hope that this doesn’t go to their heads to the point that they start showing up to matches wearing tights. (You’re both extremely attractive men – when you’re not conducting unfortunate experiments with your facial hair, anyway – but nobody needs to see that. Trust me.)

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Purna on 16/02/2010 - 5:18 am

    I am so glad Baz had missed out. He bothers me. I don’t know why!

  2. #2 by Purna on 16/02/2010 - 5:19 am

    has*

  3. #3 by Purna on 16/02/2010 - 5:26 am

    I don’t know what’s wrong with my grammar..sorry!

  4. #4 by reina on 16/02/2010 - 1:37 pm

    Haha..don’t worry about it, I don’t think I would even have noticed!

    Poor Brendon, there do seem to be a lot of people who don’t really like him. Is it the tattoos? I haven’t done an indepth analysis, but from a casual look they don’t make a lot of immediate sense…

    (Love your blog, by the way, it’s so sharp and funny! Have been meaning to add it to my blogroll, will do it straightaway!)

  5. #5 by Purna on 17/02/2010 - 6:22 am

    Thanks :).

    It’s not the tattoos. I like tattooed men. Unless they are airheads like Michael Clarke. I feel he is overhyped. Doesn’t deliver.

Leave a Reply

